City Council

Council-Manager Form of Government

As set in the City Charter, the City of Oak Ridge operates under the council-manager form of government. The governing body of the City is a seven-member City Council.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  1. Warren L Gooch

    Warren L. Gooch


  1. Jim Dodson Mayor Pro Tem OR

    Jim Dodson

    Mayor Pro Tem

  1. Sean Gleason

    Sean Gleason

    Council Member

  1. Derrick Hammond

    Derrick Hammond

    Council Member

  1. Charlie Hensley

    Charles Hensley

    Council Member

  1. Chuck Hope

    Chuck Hope

    Council Member

  1. Ellen Smith

    Ellen Smith

    Council Member


The City is governed by a modified City Manager-Council form of government. The governing body of the City is a seven-member City Council. Approximately half of the City Council is elected on a non-partisan basis every two years for a four-year term of office. Following each regular City election, the City Council elects one of its members as Mayor to serve for a two-year period as ceremonial head of the City and presiding officer of the City Council. The City Council appoints the City Manager, who is the chief administrative officer of the City. The City Manager appoints all other City employees except the City Attorney who is appointed by City Council.

The Oak Ridge City Councilmembers proudly serve the community and enjoy sharing special events, occasions, and celebrations with the community. If you have an event or celebration that you would like to invite City Council to attend, please contact the City Clerk's Office (contact information above) to coordinate scheduling.

City Council Members